This page describes the end of year processes to be completed by admins to remove existing student accounts and roster new student accounts. This process varies based on setup method. Please click on your existing setup method to view end of year instructions:

School/District Workflow Setup (most of our accounts)

Google Classroom Setup 

LTI Integration Setup / Access Code Setup 

 

 

School/District Workflow Setup

  • **If teachers want to retain student assessment data, please have teachers export that assessment data prior to you removing student accounts. Once a student is deleted, the homework and assessment data will also be deleted. How to view/export assessment data reports 
  • **If you have been set up as a district in our portal (these district setups are rare), you'll need to complete these steps for each school in your account. Please reach out to us if you have any questions about this.
  • Admins: Please refer to our School Admin Setup FAQ if you need more information on general account setup instructions. 

 

1. Admin removes existing student accounts

  • Admin deletes students: Roster > Class, Select class name > Select “Display 100 Records”, Click checkbox to the left of “name” column to select students 100 at a time > Delete

Click "Roster" > "Class", and then click "Display 100 records". Click the checkbox under "Display 100 records" to select all 100 students, and then click "Delete".

  • Repeat for each class until all students are deleted. 
  • If you have a large quantity of students/classes and it is not realistic to delete students using this method, please contact us at portals@lab-aids.com

 

2. Admin verifies class/teacher rostering information

A. Admin verifies class names are updated and accurate for next school year

  • Roster > Class
  • Make sure all necessary classes are added / old classes are removed

B. Admin verifies that all teachers are entered correctly into the system

  • Roster > Teachers
  • Verify new teachers are added
  • Verify old teachers are removed
  • Verify teachers are assigned to the correct classes ("Modify Teacher")
    • To assign a new class to a teacher, click "Modify Teacher", and then click in the "Assign Classes" box. The class list will appear, and you can select new classes to assign to the teacher.
    • After clicking "Modify Teacher", click in the "Assign Classes" box, and a list of classes will appear. Select any new classes and click "Save".

 

3. Admin confirms that POs have accurately been assigned to teachers

  • How to assign POs to teachers
  • Unassign teachers from POs if they no longer need access. 
  • Assign teachers to POs as necessary for new teachers or new POs
  • If you have both a student PO and a teacher PO for the same set of content, you need to assign both POs to teachers teaching that content to their students.

 

4. Admin rosters student accounts (this should be similar to last year)

  • Please see this document for more detailed steps on Rostering Students.
  • Admin creates and uploads “bulk upload” student document: Roster > Student > Bulk Upload

 

5. Admin communicates to teachers how to assign books to their students

 

^Back to top

 

Google Classroom Setup

**If teachers want to retain student assessment data, please have teachers export that assessment data prior to you removing student accounts. Once a student is deleted, the homework and assessment data will also be deleted. https://lab-aids.com/how-i-view-testassessment-data-reports

1) Update class, teacher, and student rosters in Google Classroom.

2) Log into Lab-Aids > disconnect and reconnect the sync. 

  • Click on Settings > Google Classroom, click "Disconnect Google Classroom" and then "Connect Google Classroom" to re-sync.
  • The sync can take up to 6 hours.

3) Check class, teacher, and student rosters for accuracy. 

  • Verify the number of teachers is correct by clicking Roster > Teacher and looking at the total number of teachers in the bottom left corner. 
  • Repeat for Roster > Class, Roster > Students.

4) Confirm teachers have been assigned the correct POs: How to assign POs to teachers

  • Unassign teachers from POs if they no longer need access. 
  • Assign teachers to POs as necessary for new teachers or new POs

5) Tell your teachers they will need to assign books to students.

  • Students will not see content unless teachers do this.

 

For general Google Classroom Integration Setup instructions, you can refer to the Google Classroom Integration Setup Guide

 

^Back to top

 

LTI Integration Setup / Access Code Setup

 

1) Teacher Access Codes:

  • Please let Lab-Aids know if any of your teachers no longer need access and need their accounts removed from the teacher access code.
  • Communicate the existing access code and redemption instructions to teachers if necessary.
    • Teachers only need to redeem this code one time, not once each year.
    • However, if any teachers did not redeem this access code last year, you'll need to communicate redemption instructions again. 

2) Student Access Codes:

  • Please ask Lab-Aids for a new access code for your students for next year. When doing so, please include the following information:
    • Would you like all student books on the same student access code, or would you like to split up books by grade and have each grade redeem a different code? If you would like them split up by grade, please list the books (purchased) desired for each grade.
    • Would you like Spanish titles included in the access code? 

 

^Back to top

 

Helpful Information for all setup methods:

  • When students are deleted, their assessment and homework data is also deleted.
    • We are confirming whether this information can be recovered if necessary. 
  • If you are considering changing setup methods for next school year, please see our "What setup methods do you offer?" FAQ for an explanation of each method.

 

Please contact portals@lab-aids.com with additional questions.

 

^Back to top